PaperCity Magazine

September 2015 - Dallas

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 18 of 89

APPETIZING AFFAIR AND A POT OF GOLD BY JANE ROZELLE. PHOTOGRAPHY DANA DRIENSKY, KIM LEESON, TAMYTHA CAMERON SMITH. A MOVEABLE FEAST AT TACA LEXUS PARTY ON THE GREEN Raindrops didn't stop this year's TACA Lexus Party on the Green. Co-chairs Kate and Rawleigh Ralls and Lisa and John Runyon worked a little magic with the team at Rosewood Mansion on Turtle Creek to move the historically outdoor fête beneath a colorful canopy — because, after all, the show must go on. Always a delicious splendor, this year's party showcased 21 local and globally renowned chefs. Guests toured their booths, sampling the culinary creations, and many planted themselves near chef Graham Dobbs of Hibiscus fame, who won the coveted Golden Skillet for his English pea soup with a deviled quail egg. The evening raised almost $400,000 for The Arts Community Alliance, which champions artistic excellence in North Texas' visual and performing arts organizations. Celebrants: Becky Young, Steve Durham, Colleen and Mike Jacoby, Jill Tananbaum, Fathay Smith, Heather and Doug Trumbauer, Cindy Stager, Tara Lewis, John Sword, and Scott and Amy Hofland. MEADOWS MUSEUM GALA Jaume Plensa's 13-foot-tall wire sculpture Sho welcomed patrons to the Meadows Museum's 50th anniversary celebration, Bodas de Oro. Dean Samuel S. Holland and museum director Mark A. Roglán greeted the well-heeled crowd to the exhibition opening of the Abelló Collection, which served as the foundation for the evening's festivities. The exhibit revealed the private collection of Juan Abelló and his wife, Anna Gamazo, and consisted of more than 100 works spanning the 15th through the 20th centuries; featured artists included Goya, Dali, Picasso, Degas and Matisse. Anniversary chair Stacey McCord; honorary chairs Linda and William Custard; and gala chairs Heather Balestri, Laura Custard Hurt and Michelle Lockhart created an enchanting evening of incredible art, decadent fare (thanks to Cassandra Fine Catering) and a fireworks show that marked the momentous occasion. Lynn McBee Allan McBee at TACA Stacey Relton John Relton at TACA Eric Maas at TACA Sheryl Maas Co-chair Lisa Runyon Co-chair John Runyon Co-chair Kate Ralls at TACA Co-chair Rawleigh Ralls Donna Wilhelm Brad Oldham Christy Coltrin at TACA Ray Balestri at Meadows Katherine Coker Key Coker at Meadows Linda Custard at Meadows Daffan Nettle Kay Bailey Hutchison Doug Nettle at Meadows Jeanne Phillips Gene Jones at Meadows Chair Heather Balestri Meadows Museum Chair Stacey McCord R. Gerald Turner at Meadows Sharon McCullough at Meadows Marilyn Augur Gail Turner Sam Holland CHARITABLE CHICKS AND A MAD DASH BY JANE ROZELLE. PHOTOGRAPHY DANA DRIENSKY, DANIEL DRIENSKY, TAMYTHA CAMERON SMITH, ROB WYTHE/GITTINGS. GETTING CHICKIE WITH IT "A Recipe for Disaster" might have been highlighted on the menu, but this year's Chick Lit Luncheon was anything but: The event, presented by Dr. Robert Tafel and Lara Tafel, raised $275,000-plus for Community Partners of Dallas. More than 600 ladies filled Brook Hollow Golf Club for a conversation with best-selling author Stacey Ballis, who has whipped up best-selling stories including Off the Menu, Out to Lunch and her latest, Recipe for Disaster (hence, the wording on the menu). Chair Wendy Messmann, honorary chair Carol Seay and Community Partners of Dallas president and CEO Paige McDaniel recruited Ballis for the event, where she shed light on her newly categorized genre — foodie fiction — while guests savored crème brûlée cheesecake. Slick chicks: Lauren Anne Johnson, Simona Beal, Billie Leigh Rippey, Ramona Jones, Dee Simmons, Anne Stodghill, and Holly Davis. MAD ABOUT YOU Chic chapeaux are de rigueur at the Mad Hatter's Tea at the Dallas Arboretum, which was transformed into a French paradise in keeping with this year's April in Paris theme. Ladies and gents traditionally don their most outlandish ensembles for the annual tea and hat contest benefitting the Women's Council of the Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Garden. Let's just say nothing is too over the top at this legendary fashion extravaganza, now in its 27th year. Overseeing the festivities were chair Sharon Popham, honorary chair Sherwood Wagner and Women's Council president Marena Gault. A fashion presentation from show sponsors Betty Reiter, Canary, Nardos Imam and V.O.D., produced by the inimitable Jan Strimple kicked off the day, then guests settled in for a seated luncheon. But the pièce de résistance was when celebrity chair Clarice Tinsley introduced the guest judges, who crowned the winners in eight coveted categories. Tipping their hats: Faye Briggs, Shane Walker, Billy Fulmer, Terry Irby, Karen Lukin, Kim Gatlin, Betty Bullington, Mackenzie Brittingham, and Jeff Shell. Cara French Rhonda Sargent Chambers at Chick Lit Doris Jacobs at Chick Lit Sarah Novakov Kim Calloway Lara Tafel Chairman Wendy Messmann at Chick Lit Catherine Pate at Chick Lit Nichole Thomas at Chick Lit Kim Dodson Carol Seay Dawn Mellon at Mad Hatters Dawn Neufeld at Mad Hatters Dustin Holcomb at Mad Hatters Yanni Kyriazis Suzanne Palmlund at Mad Hatters Sherwood Wagner at Mad Hatters Marena Gault Chair Sharon Popham Nerissa von Helpenstill Katherine Coker at Mad Hatters Paige McDaniel Janice Van Arsdale Leigh Anne Haugh Joanna Clarke at Chick Lit Kameron Westcott at Chick Lit

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of PaperCity Magazine - September 2015 - Dallas