PaperCity Magazine

December 2015 - Houston

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 97 of 109

H ouston Antiques + Art + Design Show — Dolphin Promotions' antiquing convergence — rolled into George R. Brown Convention Center this season with informed attendance and strong sales. The third fall edition of the rebranded HADA Show also brought a fresh emphasis on mid-century modern, alongside storied Queen Anne, Georgian, Empire, Neoclassical and Victorian furnishings and accessories. Handsome layered vignettes presented everything from oyster plates and breakfronts to 19th-century paintings and rare volumes in this pedigreed show. PaperCity DesignLab amplified the energy with a welcome decorating dialogue, presenting panels led by Christies VP Jessica Phifer, alongside designers, purveyors and architects dishing on "The Future of the Past" (Suzanne Duin and Ben Johnston) and "Design in the Middle" (all about modernism, with Lynn Goode, Troy Osborne, and Shane Cook). Houston exhibiting dealers mounting museum-level booths included River Oaks Antiques' Josie and Fred Nevill, Dianne and Bob Josephs of Atelier 1505, Past Era's bauble maven Marion Glober, David Lackey of Antiques Roadshow renown, Laurier Blanc's Suzanne Coppola, l and antique jeweler Wayne Smith. Dolphin's Rosemary Krieger and Gordon Merkle welcomed the collecting crowd, including Jayne Edison (whose Office Furniture Innovations hosted the PC DesignLab), Erich Ploog, Kathy Berardo, Mike Johnston, John Wehrle, Ellen Phillips, artist Mary Hawkins, Nina Andrews, Susie and Jim Pokorski, Gail Morrison, Diana and Brad Wander, Emily Griffith, and Rebecca Grotte. (Prepare your antiques and design wish list: HAADS returns for its popular spring edition, March 18 through 20, 2016, again at the George R. Brown.) DECEMBER | PAGE 90 | 2015 CATHERINE D. ANSPON SLEUTHS THE BOOTHS. PHOTOGRAPHY DANIEL ORTIZ. HOUSTON ANTIQUES +ART+ DESIGN SHOW, YEAR THREE BLAST FROM THE PAST Alex Driscoll Brad Wander Suzanne Duin Diana Wander Gordon Merkle Rosemary Krieger Gail Morrison Dianne Josephs Suzanne Coppola Troy Osborne Lynn Goode Shane Cook Jessica Phifer Daniel Irion Marion Glober Bob Josephs Ellen Phillips Ben Johnston Alton LaDay Ken Burns Sara Burns John Wehrle The scene at David Lackey's booth Emily Griffith P ower ladies who lunch were dressed to impress from head to Jimmy Choo-clad toe at the annual Neiman Marcus Stiletto Strut and Luncheon, which benefitted breast cancer research at the Lester and Sue Smith Breast Center at Baylor College of Medicine. The extravaganza kicked off with a champagne reception in the shoe salon at Neiman Marcus. Chair Megan Hotze, co-chairs Shelly Smith Hendry and Limor Smith (daughter-in-law to the center's namesakes, Sue and Lester Smith), and honorary chair Jan Duncan cut the pink ribbon and led the charge as 450 supporters walked with purpose to the Westin on the other side of the Galleria — hence, the name Stiletto Strut. At the seated luncheon, eight breast cancer survivors were profiled and honored: Joan Risinger, who ran a 5K earlier this year; Shakti Dalal, who was breastfeeding when she found a lump; Alyson Haas; Cynthia Edwards; Kafi Slaughter; Samina Farid; Heather Losado; and Mabel Ugbanaja, who delivered her baby shortly after having brain surgery. These strong women were escorted down the runway by David Smalling, Jeffrey Yates, Henry Richardson, Erik Carrington, Tommy Evans, Andrew Hayes, Hernan Vargas, and Luke Hotze. Lester Smith and Dr. C. Kent Osborne presented the C. Kent Osborne Award for Medical Excellence to Dr. Mothaffar Rimawi, director of clinical research at the Lester and Sue Smith Breast Center, who is on the forefront of researching new treatments. Neiman Marcus' Stacey Swift then took the stage to present the Art of Fashion, a gorgeous runway show of stunning fall looks. We spotted quite a few guests bee-lining back to Neiman Marcus after the luncheon's close to scoop up the runway fashion. Strutting their stuff: Trish Morille, Stuart Smith, Liz Zaruba, Cora Sue and Harry Mach, and Mary Ann McKeithan. For more party coverage, visit Christina Flores Tricia Georgiou Charlayne Bibbs Collins Lisa Reed Honoree Mothaffar Rimawi Lara Rimawi Kafi Slaughter Mabel Ugbanaja Trish Hayes Veronica Massiatte Cora Sue Mach Lester Smith Paul Klotman Dana Kervin Clark Honorary chair Jan Duncan Jane Parker Becky Cooke Mary Ann McKeithan ANNE LEE PHILLIPS ON A WELL-HEELED AFTERNOON. PHOTOGRAPHY PRISCILLA DICKSON AND WILSON PARISH. STRUTTING WITH SURVIVORS Taryn Proler Sofia Massey Maria Morales Chair Megan Hotze Co-chair Limor Smith Sue Smith Henry Richardson Co-chair Shelly Smith Hendry Alyson Haas Neiman Marcus fashion show

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of PaperCity Magazine - December 2015 - Houston