PaperCity Magazine

July / August 2016 - Houston

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 60 of 76

T his year's Talk of the Town Gala — the most successful fund-raiser in the history of Stages Repertory Theatre — took its cue from Mad Men-inspired glamour. Holland Vavra crooned à la Sinatra as 370 exquisitely dressed guests entered the Astorian, which co-chairs Debbie Festari and Mauri Oliver artfully employed as a backdrop for classic looks from the '50s and '60s (in keeping with Stages' run of the Judy Garland-inspired End of the Rainbow). The swell chair ladies prepared an evening that included bites from Cordúa Catering and a vivacious set from DJ Senega, as well as the presentation of Stages' Theodore Award for Visionary Leadership to Tara Simon for her long-time support. Auction co-chairs Tatiana Galitzine and Nicole O'Brian Lassiter rounded up luxe delights including a weekend in Southampton and a stay in a private villa in Acapulco; lucky (and deep-pocketed) auction winners included Regina Garcia, Doug Naeve, Harry Bowles, Christine Kirchner (who scored a painting by William Loyd), and C.C. and Duke Ensell. Patrons of the arts: Stages artistic director Kenn McLaughlin and managing director Mark Folkes; underwriting chairmen Jo and Jim Furr; board chair George Lancaster; founding artistic director emeritus Ted Swindley; entertainment chairs Mauney Mafrige and Rob Rutherford; lead underwriters Isla and Tommy Reckling, Jane and Dick Schmitt, and Vivian Wise; and stylish guests Tony Bradfield and Kevin Black, Rudy Festari, Robert Gallegos, Nixon Wheat, Beth Muecke, Fady Armanious, Joanna and Stephen Handel, Jonathon Glus and Alton LaDay, Carolyn Johnson, Amy Moss, Susan and Neal Hirsch, Cindy and Julian Langham, and Carolyn and Tom Paul. MATTHEW RAMIREZ WAS DRESSED TO THE NINES. PHOTOGRAPHY QUY TRAN, ROSWITHA VOGLER. TALK OF THE TOWN STAGES CELEBRATES ITS BIGGEST NIGHT EVER Andrew Lyth Mark Folkes Sandra Porter Megan Sutton- Reed Chris Reed Leisa Holland- Nelson Holland Vavra J.D. Adamson Tony Gibson Tatiana Galitzine Nicole O'Brian Lassiter Jim Furr Jo Furr Joe Pachioli Kathryn Katsus Rudy Festari Kenn McLaughlin Patti Murphy Kat Kearns Co-chair Mauri Oliver Rocky Mafrige Melissa Mithoff Sarah Bray Honoree Tara Simon Jodie Eisenhardt Sippi Khurana Ajay Khurana Neal Hamil Co-chair Debbie Festari Brandon McClendon Stacey Soriero

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of PaperCity Magazine - July / August 2016 - Houston