PaperCity Magazine

March 2016 - Dallas

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 11 of 84

DREAM THEMES A TRIO OF FÊTES WITH WILDLY DIFFERENT STYLES BY JANE ROZELLE. PHOTOGRAPHY DANA DRIENSKY, JAMES EDWARD, JASON JANIK, JONATHAN ZIZZO. MARCH | PAGE 12 | 2016 SOUTH OF THE BORDER Flower crowns, tequila and vibrantly painted faces of the skeletal variety abounded at this year's Mission Olé Gala — a Dia de los Muertos-themed affair at 3015 Trinity Groves overseen by Mexico's glamorous symbol of bereavement, the floral-headpiece-wearing Calavera Catrina. Chair Greg Nieberding and honorary chair Katherine Wynne truly captured the Mexican holiday's wildly colorful reputation while raising more than $155,000 to help Trinity River Mission promote literacy and academic achievement among disadvantaged youth in West Dallas. We can think of no better reason to partake in a most fabulous fiesta. Muy caliente: Cindy and Gary Turner, Dolores Sosa Green, Paula and Jim White, Joanna Clarke, Neiman Lance Hill, Paige McDaniel, Linda and Scott Robins, Sal Barron, and Yolanda Alameda. OVER-THE-TOP URBAN For this year's Best Buddies Gala, chairs Jan Miller, Jeff Rich, and Bill Durham shrouded the walls of The Ritz-Carlton ballroom with black coverings splattered with iridescent graffiti — an apparent homage to the man who designed the Best Buddies logo, late American artist and activist Keith Haring. The evening celebrated honorary chairs Patty and Bobby Nail, as well as the work Best Buddies does for those living with intellectual and developmental disabilities. After dinner, Best Buddies founder Anthony Kennedy Shriver expressed his admiration of Dallas philanthropy. "Dallas women are flamboyant, friendly and thankful," he said, then gestured toward the inimitable Nancy Dedman, whom he'd met in the lobby earlier that day (and whose daughter was the honorary chair). "Nancy," he said with a wink of charm, "it might just be you and me in the old Ritz-Carlton later …" His humorous pass at one of our city's most beloved grande dames had the room in a fit of giggles. Next was a series of musical performances by piano prodigy Rex Lewis and American trumpeter and composer Sean Jones. Best buds: Barbara and Don Daseke, Scott Murray, Laura and Lloyd Pierson, Morgan Reese, Scott Ginsburg and Dana and Tim Morrison. SCIENTIFIC CHIC When the Perot Museum of Nature and Science stays open late, it does so in electrifying fashion. Such was the case when the architectural, otherworldly cube of a space (designed by Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate Thom Mayne) set the stage for the annual Night at the Museum Gala, this year themed "Illuminate." Chairmen Carrie and Steven Becker and Merry and Chad Vose saw the museum packed with four floors of interactive scientific wonder. More than 1,000 guests participated, from posing in the halo-light photo station and making their own glowing jewelry and accessories to feasting under a canopy of stars in the interactive planetarium. The highlight of the evening was the unveiling of Ellie May, the museum's nearly intact Columbian mammoth skeleton. Glowing with excitement: Honorary chairs Deedie and Rusty Rose, Nicole Small, Aja Martin, Carmen and Thomas Surgent, Ariel Saldivar, Camille and Earl Simpkins, Laura Reeder, Haley Pratt, Caroline Summers, Veronica Ackels, Jeffrey Lee, Jennifer Sampson, and Carolyn and Karl Rathjen. Rene Gracia Amber Gracia at Mission Ole Barbara Lloyd Frank Lloyd at Mission Ole Forrest Miller at Perot Mary Katherine Lott at Perot Madison Redwine Richard Eiseman at Perot Mike Rawlings at Perot Margot Perot Ross Perot at Perot Colleen Walker Betsy Eiseman Cynthia Miller Chair Greg Nieberding at Mission Ole Eddie Ortega Madeleine Hobbs at Mission Ole Katherine Wynne at Mission Ole John Baer Chair Jan Miller Chair Jeff Rich at Best Buddies Coley Clark at Best Buddies Pat Smith at Best Buddies Nena Oshman at Best Buddies Jim Gragg at Best Buddies Sue Gragg Andrew Oshman Morgan Reese Susie Straubmueller at Best Buddies Anthony Kennedy Shriver at Best Buddies Saryn Dietz at Best Buddies Jonathan Dietz Laura Pierson Jennifer Clark Chair Merry Vose at Perot Tierney Kaufman Hutchins Rachel Osburn at Perot Alan Katz at Perot Dean Galaro at Perot Jennifer Karol at Perot Tom Karol Sarah Galaro Karen Katz Deedie Rose Chair Carrie Becker Paul Goelzer at Mission Ole Caroline Goelzer Andrew Alspaugh John Weber at Mission Ole Sarah Nelson at Mission Ole Andrea Weber Tom Nelson Elizabeth Fischer

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of PaperCity Magazine - March 2016 - Dallas