PaperCity Magazine

PaperCity Dallas Jan:Feb 2024

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 97 of 103

North Texas Doctors Partygoers: 1. LaDarius Lenard 2. Dr. Marc Nivet Jonathan & Saryn Dietz Michael & Abby Gregory Michael McMahan 3. Abby Gregory, Michael Kahn Josie & Carl Sewell Amanda George Alexandra Kahn 4. Dr. Katie Hoge Dr. Avanthi Tayi Shah Dr. Christina Herrera 5. Michael & Amy McMahan 6. Tori Mulford, Josie Sewell L ast fall, I arrived at UT Southwestern Medical Center for An Evening with DocStars, a fundraiser that brings together "some of the brightest minds in the field of medical research with generous hearts in our community." The event was hosted by The Cary Council, a group of young leaders dedicated to advancing early-stage research at UT Southwestern and presented by the Michael and Abby Gregory Foundation. Guests had a chance to meet and interact with doctors while learning about medicine at simulations stations. These hands-on activities, including a brain-wave experiment, showcased the cutting-edge medical research and technology that UT Southwestern is known for. In 30 minutes, I sutured a teddy bear and showed off my agile skills with a laparoscope. Then, for my genetic pièce de résistance, I conducted a sonogram where I not only located the baby's heartbeat (child's play) but identified the sex (it was a boy) and determined that the baby was breached. I Honoring at the Forefront of Medical Breakthroughs A Celebration of The Future of Medicine at UT Southwestern Photography Ren Morrison, Brandon Wade. walked away, pondering, "Am I a doctor?" The real rock stars of the evening, of course, were the doctors themselves. Three investigators at the forefront of medical breakthroughs — Dr. Christina Herrera, Dr. Katie Hoge, and Dr. Avanthi Tayi Shah — received $50,000 seed grants from The Cary Council. These inspiring doctors provided insight into their work and the importance of early-stage research endeavors. Affirming UT Southwestern's spot at the forefront of medical research, the 18 past recipients of The Cary Council's funding have gone on to secure more than $13 million in funding from additional sources. In the crowd: Event chairs Saryn and Jonathan Dietz, Lara and Brian Pryor, Bridget Barbier-Mueller, Tori Mulford, Lauren and Ben Baldwin, Madison Strode, Dr. Adare Robinson, Jada and Conner Mowles, Lauren and Quint Brown, Amy and Michael McMahan, Josie and Carl Sewell, LaDarius Lenard, Nancy and William Collins, Alexandra and Michael Kahn, and Lana Constantine. Melissa Smrekar PAPERCITY PROMOTION 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 92

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of PaperCity Magazine - PaperCity Dallas Jan:Feb 2024