PaperCity Magazine

February 2015 - Houston

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 11 of 71

FEBRUARY | PAGE 12 | 2015 A COUPLET FOR CANCERFORWARD TO SUPPORT CANCER SURVIVORS AND TO ALL A SCHMOOZE NIGHT TO GOING FORWARD THE KEY ANNE LEE PHILLIPS MUSES ON TWO PURPOSEFUL PARTIES. PHOTOGRAPHY PRISCILLA DICKSON, NICOLE KESTENBAUM, DANIEL ORTIZ, VICKY PINK. ANNE LEE PHILLIPS MIXES AND MINGLES. PHOTOGRAPHY JACOB POWER. CELEBRATION AT SAKS A citadel of the fall social season, the 16th annual Key to the Cure Charity Shopping Weekend was kicked off in great style at Saks Fifth Avenue, benefitting CancerForward: The Foundation for Cancer Survivors for the fifth year. Saks VP Bobby Dees and kickoff chairs Kristy and Chris Bradshaw honored the 2014 Class of CancerForward Forward Movers — civic leaders and cancer survivors who serve as role models. This year's class included Rev. Preston J. Allen, Ron Baloochi, Janet Cockrell, Rebecca Cooke, Anne Hamilton Meyn, Michael Francisco, Dr. Margo Hilliard Alford, and Dr. Bob Gower. Potentate of American prep Tommy Hilfiger and his wife, handbag designer Dee Ocleppo Hilfiger, provided celebrity swoon factor for more than 500 guests. Keys to a good time: former Texas Secretary of State Jack Rains; sisters Rachel Gower and Allison Gower, cheering on their Forward Mover dad; Rebekah Johnson; Candy and Lonnie Schiller; Ting Bresnahan; Rachel Solar; Audrey Cochran; and Shawntell McWilliams. C onvivial Kathryn and Jeff Smith not only chaired the annual Holiday Schmooze but also hosted it at their refined River Oaks abode. Two hundred guests enjoyed cocktails and bites from Jackson and Company while raising $200,000 for Legacy Community Health Services' HIV and AIDS programs. Legacy's Katy Caldwell thanked donors for contributing more than $1 million since the first Schmooze in 1996. The ever-popular party with a purpose caused a petite traffic jam, but guests were appeased with chocolate truffles as they awaited the valet. Toasting tradition: Elizabeth DeLuca, Claire Cormier Thielke chatting with Melanie Gray, John Evatz, Julie Oliver, Robyn Vermeil, Courtney and Bo Hopson, Jackson Hicks and Milton Townsend, Stan Neeley, Karen Wildenstein, Katherine Phelps, Cheryl Byington, C.C. Conner and David Groover, Christie and Mark Sullivan, and Amy and Todd Miller. Visit for more party coverage online. David Golemon Gerald Pollard MariCarmen Tamez Jay Tatum Jani Lopez Sid Moorhead Melanie Gray Diane Lokey Farb Jackson Hicks Jesse Bounds Pat Breen Terry Wayne Jones Jay Jones Gloria Bounds Lauren Hall Milton Townsend Katherine Phelps Bo Hopson Courtney Hopson Host Jeff Smith Host Kathryn Smith Brian Williams David LaDuke Gary Hammett Claire Cormier Thielke John Evatz MINDFULLY MOVING FORWARD Mindfulness and meditation were the mantras at CancerForward's We Can Go Forward Luncheon at the River Oaks Country Club. ABC News anchor Dan Harris — whose recent memoir, 10% Happier, details his own entry into meditation after an on-air panic attack — stressed the value of these stress-relieving practices for cancer survivors and their caregivers alike. Compassionate caregivers Rolanette and Berdon Lawrence received the H. Rudy Teichman Anchor of Strength Award for their endowment of a program shared between Baylor College of Medicine and UT MD Anderson Cancer Center that researches a cure for bone metastasis in survivors. All proceeds from the luncheon benefitted CancerForward's website, which links survivors worldwide. Advocates: Chair foursome Denise Monteleone, fashion designer Bill Hamilton, CancerForward founder Beth Sanders Moore and PaperCity's Kate Stukenberg, who greeted guests Anne Hamman, Wezy Dees, Gina Bhatia, Ernie Cockrell, Gwen Mullins, Doe and Henry Florsheim, and Elizabeth Peabody. Kickoff chair Chris Bradshaw at Saks Kickoff chair Kristy Bradshaw Wezy Dees at Saks Bobby Dees Kate Stukenberg Tricia Dewhurst at ROCC Dan Harris at ROCC Meredith Long at ROCC Shawntell McWilliams at ROCC Merele Yarborough Gina Gaston Cornelia Long Luncheon co-chair Denise Monteleone at ROCC Luncheon co-chair Bill Hamilton Lisa Malosky Honoree Rolanette Lawrence Honoree Berdon Lawrence Luncheon co-chair Beth Sanders Moore Ellie Francisco at Saks Honoree Michael Francisco Tommy Hilfiger at Saks Honoree Margo Hilliard Alford Marcus Alford at Saks Ernie Cockrell at Saks Kathleen Jennings at Saks Jennifer Baran Batchelor Jason Kaminsky at Saks Kristin Kaminsky Sam Baldwin at Saks Honoree Janet Cockrell Maya Kirk at Saks Dee Ocleppo Hilfiger Elizabeth Peabody

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of PaperCity Magazine - February 2015 - Houston